Recent Events

3 cartoon drawings showing stereotypical images of american indians and african americans
Past Event
Date:  Thu Feb 9, 2017 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Tarzan to Tonto: Stereotypes as Obstacles to Progress Toward a More Perfect Union - A Symposium

book cover with the a background image of a women from the waist down with a dress and white apron. Two small cameo images of Martha and George Washington in the foreground.
Past Event
Date:  Wed Feb 8, 2017 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Historically Speaking: Never Caught: The Washingtons' Relentless Pursuit of Their Runaway Slave, Ona Judge

Past Event
Date:  Wed Feb 1, 2017 7:00pm to 9:00pm

I am Not Your Negro - Screening and Discussion

Democracy in Black Book Cover
Past Event
Date:  Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Democracy in Black: How Race Still Enslaves the American Soul

Past Event
Date:  Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:00pm to 3:15pm

Matinee at the Museum: Hidden Figures

Past Event
Date:  Sat Nov 19, 2016 8:30am to 1:00pm

NHD in 1-2-3: Identifying and Analyzing Sources

Past Event
Date:  Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:00pm to 8:45pm

Senegalese Recipes from Source to Bowl: A Conversation between Chef Pierre Thiam and Jessica B. Harris

Past Event
Date:  Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:00pm to 5:00pm

Double Victory: The African American Military Experience

Forgotten book cover
Past Event
Date:  Wed Nov 9, 2016 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Forgotten: A Conversation between Wil Haygood and Linda Hervieux

Power to the People book cover
Past Event
Date:  Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:00pm to 4:30pm

Power to the People: A Conversation with Stephen Shames and Bobby Seale