The cabin was originally a two room, hall-and-parlor cabin with a loft accessible by ladder. The cabin had one door and three windows. A back door and an extra room were added after emancipation.
The Point of Pines Plantation Slave Cabin was one of two remaining slave dwellings on Edisto Island in 2013. The cabin was built on Charles Bailey's Point of Pines plantation in 1853 along with approximately nine other cabins of identical type. The lumber used to build the cabin was machine cut and shipped to the island. At this point, the cabins were assembled most likely by enslaved carpenters. The cabin is a one-story, rectangular, weatherboard clad building with a side gable roof which also acts as the overhanging porch roof. There is a single, exterior brick chimney on the west elevation.It was listed in the National Register November 28, 1986.
The cabin is a one-story, two-room, rectangular, weatherboard clad building with an extended side gable roof which acts as the overhanging porch roof and a brick /masonry fireplace on the west elevation. The structure is a timber frame, meaning a heavy timber mortise and tenon, structure. It is composed of 6”x 6” sills of Southern Yellow Pine, 3” x 4” studs with 4” x 6” braces, topped with 4” x 6” plates and 3” x 4” rafters all of Southern Yellow Pine. Rafters are covered with lath and the structure originally had a cypress shingle roof; some pieces of shingles survive in the roof frame. The exterior was covered by Southern Yellow pine lap siding and painted with whitewash.