A clear glass oil lamp base from the Jones-Hall-Sims House. The body, or font, of the lamp is a lozenge shape, smooth with one (1) horizontal ridge line around the top. The font connects to a thick lamp stem with a vertical rib pattern that widens into a pedestal base. The wick runs up through a metal oil lamp burner that is attached to the lamp at an opening at the top of the font. The Queen Anne style metal oil lamp burner has a wick raiser, a small peg on one side to turn to raise the wick as it is burned, and three (3) remaining feet out of the original four (4) feet that could be used to hold a lamp chimney in place. The remaining length of the wick descends into the lamp font.
These are the surviving elements of the Jones-Hall-Sims House, a two-story log cabin built by formerly enslaved members of the Jones family. The body of the house is composed of heavy timbers fit together with saddle notches. The side gable roof is lightly framed. There is one (1) entrance to the house, at the proper right of the house's front side. This same side of the house has three (3) window openings, one on the lower level at proper left, one at upper left and one at upper right. On the back side of the house are four (4) window openings. Three (3) original joists remain between the first and second levels of the house. Inside the house, at center back, painted wood planks form a partition wall. Behind the partition wall are stairs leading to the former second level. Below the stairs is a small closet space accessible through a white-painted door in the partition wall. A small section of original chinking has been installed in between timbers on the second story interior wall of the house. The lower timbers of the house, having been directly exposed to the soil for decades, required full or partial replacement. This home was located in Jonesville, near what is now Poolesville, Maryland.
A souvenir program celebrating Wilma Rudolph Day in Clarksville, Tennessee on October 4, 1960 commemorating her achievements in the 1960 Summer Olympics. The front of the black-and-white program features a centrally oriented, thatched illustration of Wilma Rudolph with three (3) Olympic gold medals above her head. At the top of the program is the text [WELCOME] centered above the illustration. At the bottom of the front cover is text that reads [WILMA / Souvenir Program / Wilma Rudolph Day / Clarksville Tennessee / October 4, 1960]. The program has two (2) interior pages. The left interior page features an illustration of a plaque by the Citizens of Clarksville in honor of Rudolph’s gold medals, a second illustration of a proclamation by the Mayor of Clarksville naming October 4, 1960 [WELCOME WILMA DAY], and an illustration of three (3) Olympic gold medals. Below the illustrations are three paragraphs of text that give the background of the event and the names of other honored medalists. The right interior page lists a Program of Events. The back of the program is a list of sponsors. There is a handwritten notation in pencil in the top left corner of the front cover. There are handwritten notations, speech times, and check marks in blue ink on the interior right page.
Surface collected at an unknown date by an unknown person; acquired by Charles A. Eicher (1883-1951, a collector from Miamisburg, Ohio) before 1938; obtained from Charles Eicher by Robert A. Kercher (1919-2009, an amateur archaeologist and collector from the Cincinnati, Ohio, area) in 1938; purchased by Dr. Edgar Burke (1889-1950, a physician and hospital director in Jersey City, New Jersey) in 1950; donated to MAI by Dr. Burke's sisters, Alicita Burke Lee (Mrs. Frederick S. Lee, 1903-1992) and Minnie Burke Schwab (Mrs. Robert H. Schwab, 1891-1970) in 1952.