The cabin was originally a two room, hall-and-parlor cabin with a loft accessible by ladder. The cabin had one door and three windows. A back door and an extra room were added after emancipation.
The Point of Pines Plantation Slave Cabin was one of two remaining slave dwellings on Edisto Island in 2013. The cabin was built on Charles Bailey's Point of Pines plantation in 1853 along with approximately nine other cabins of identical type. The lumber used to build the cabin was machine cut and shipped to the island. At this point, the cabins were assembled most likely by enslaved carpenters. The cabin is a one-story, rectangular, weatherboard clad building with a side gable roof which also acts as the overhanging porch roof. There is a single, exterior brick chimney on the west elevation.It was listed in the National Register November 28, 1986.
The cabin is a one-story, two-room, rectangular, weatherboard clad building with an extended side gable roof which acts as the overhanging porch roof and a brick /masonry fireplace on the west elevation. The structure is a timber frame, meaning a heavy timber mortise and tenon, structure. It is composed of 6”x 6” sills of Southern Yellow Pine, 3” x 4” studs with 4” x 6” braces, topped with 4” x 6” plates and 3” x 4” rafters all of Southern Yellow Pine. Rafters are covered with lath and the structure originally had a cypress shingle roof; some pieces of shingles survive in the roof frame. The exterior was covered by Southern Yellow pine lap siding and painted with whitewash.
A land deed for property in Fayette County, West Virginia owned by the Crawford family. The quarter-folded document has handwritten and pre-typed lithographed fields. When folded the front of the document reads:
J. L Johnson and Linnie T. Johnson
W.C. Smith and James Crawford
Dated February 7 1903
Received for Record this 26th
Day of February 1903
Recorded in Deed Book
No 26, page 272
Blanks of all kinds for sale at the Journal Office, Fayetteville, W. Va.
C + J]
The interior page one reads: [This Deed, Made this 7th day of February 1903 between J L Johnson and Linnie T Johnson his wife of the County of Fayette and state of West Virginia of the first part, and W. C. Smith and James Crawford of the same county and state of the second part:
Witnesseth, That the said parties of the first part, for and in consideration of the sum of One Hundred ($100.00) Dollars cash in hand paid the receipt of which is hereby acknowledged. ~~~~~~~~~~
Do__ Grant unto the parties of the second part the said W. C. Smith and James Crawford, the surface and surface only (the mineral having heretofore been sold) in and the following described lot or parcel of land known as Lot No. 25 on the same lying and being on the waters of Wolf Creek, in Fayetteville District Fayette County West Virginia and bounded and described as follows: Beginning at a stone on the edge of Main Street and Corner to Lot No. 23 and with Lot No. 23 S. 70 W. 180 feet to a stone in line of J. W. Davis and with Davis S. 20 E. 19 feet to a stone in the edge of the Railroad Survey and with said survey S. 89 E. 190 feet to a stone in the edge of Main Street and with Main Street N. 20 W. 80 feet to the beginning containing about one fourth (1/4) acre.]
The second interior page records the signatures of James L. Johnson and Linnie T. Johnson. The third interior page records the signatures of the Notary Public and the Fayette County Clerk.
These are the surviving elements of the Jones-Hall-Sims House, a two-story log cabin built by formerly enslaved members of the Jones family. The body of the house is composed of heavy timbers fit together with saddle notches. The side gable roof is lightly framed. There is one (1) entrance to the house, at the proper right of the house's front side. This same side of the house has three (3) window openings, one on the lower level at proper left, one at upper left and one at upper right. On the back side of the house are four (4) window openings. Three (3) original joists remain between the first and second levels of the house. Inside the house, at center back, painted wood planks form a partition wall. Behind the partition wall are stairs leading to the former second level. Below the stairs is a small closet space accessible through a white-painted door in the partition wall. A small section of original chinking has been installed in between timbers on the second story interior wall of the house. The lower timbers of the house, having been directly exposed to the soil for decades, required full or partial replacement. This home was located in Jonesville, near what is now Poolesville, Maryland.