Photograph of Alpha Iota Chapter, Wiley College

Created by
Subject of
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, American, founded 1913
Wells, Henrietta Bell, American, 1912 - 2008
Moon, Catherine
Boutte, Faye
Young, Alberta
Winston, Deralyn
Tyler, Lugusta
Clarke, Wilbaleigh
Brown, Thelma
Crawford, Cecile
Fonsworth, Sylvia
Webster, Anita
Foreman, Irma
Booker, Aster Lee
Fonsworth, Marie
Johnson, Helen
Jackson, Willie
Johnson, Ardelia
Burr, Vera
Unidentified Woman or Women
Wiley College, American, founded 1873
H x W: 7 15/16 × 10 15/16 in. (20.2 × 27.8 cm)
A sepia print of the Alpha Iota Chapter at Wiley College in 1932. There are 20 women in four rows, on the exterior stairs of a brick building (3 in front row, 6 in second row, 7 in third row, and 4 in back row). All of the women are wearing dresses and have corsages pinned to their proper left chest. Most of the women have their hands clasped in front of themselves. There are two baskets of flowers in front of the ladies, with the symbols [?ST] for Delta Sigma Theta between the two baskets. This photograph is housed in a clear plastic sleeve, along with a photocopy of these same picture on a piece of white copy paper, along with the list of individuals pictured on the left. List reads: [ALPHA IOTA CHAPTER / WILEY COLLEGE / 1932 / 1st Row / Henrietta Bell / Catherine Moon / 2nd Row / Faye Boutte / Alberta Young / Deralyn Winson / Lugusta Tyler / Wilbaleign Clarke /Thelma Brown / 3rd Row / Cecile Crawford / Sylvia Fonsworth / Anita Webster / Irma Foreman / Aster Lee Booker / Marie Fonsworth / 4th Row / Helen Johnson / Willie Jackson / Ardelia Johnson / Vera Burr].
Place depicted
Marshall, Harrison County, Texas, United States, North and Central America
Media Arts-Photography
sepia prints
HBCUs (Historically Black Colleges and Universities)
Credit Line
Collection of the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, Gift of Dr. Edward L. Cox
Object number
Restrictions & Rights
No Known Copyright Restrictions